ACMECS Single Visa

ACMECS (Ayeyawady-Chao Phraya-Mekong Economic Cooperation Strategy) single visa was formulated in a summit meeting between Thailand, Myanmar, Laos and Cambodia to facilitate the flow of tourists outside member countries to enter the region as well as to lessen development gap and accelerate economic growth, social progress and cultural development in the region.

Similar to Europe’s Schengen Visa, ASV was initially called “Four-Countries-One Destination” formulated to promote tourism in the ECS member countries. Tourist from 35 eligible countries (listed below) can obtain a visa from any member country to enter all other member countries. Later on, ECS changed its name to ACMECS and Vietnam joined in as the fifth member.

Thailand and Cambodia are the two countries that have recently implemented the ASV. It is an excellent example of cooperation within the region in which both nations gain mutual benefits. It enhances facilitating the flow of tourists from the third countries to travel into other member countries. It would also create jobs, generate income to the local, reduce the economic gap and enhance the regional development.

ASV is issued when nationals of 35 eligible countries apply for visas at Thai/Cambodian Embassies or Consulates. Before the issuance, each Embassy or Consulate must request for a pre clearance and wait for the reply from the other side. However, each country has the right to refrain from issuing its visa or to deny the pre clearance. The ASV visa fee for the Thai side is the same as Thai tourist visa fee which is THB 1,000 per entry (approximately US$40), whereas the fee for Cambodian side is US$20. There are no multiple entry and all fees which are non refundable are charged on a single entry basis. The fee shall be independently collected both at the Embassy or Consulate issuing the visa and at the Immigration checkpoint of the other participating country.

The 35 eligible countries which their nationals can apply for ACMECS Single Visa (ASV) are as follows:

  1. Australia
  2. Austria
  3. Belgium
  4. Bahrain
  5. Canada
  6. China
  7. Denmark
  8. Finland
  9. France
  10. Germany
  11. Greece
  12. Hong Kong
  13. Iceland
  14. Ireland
  15. Israel
  16. Italy
  17. India
  18. Japan
  19. Korea
  20. Kuwait
  21. Luxembourg
  22. Netherlands
  23. New Zealand
  24. Norway
  25. Oman
  26. Portugal
  27. Qatar
  28. Spain
  29. South Africa
  30. Sweden
  31. Switzerland
  32. Turkey
  33. United Arab Emirates (UAE)
  34. United Kingdom (UK)
  35. United States of America (USA)

Contact ThaiLawyers for your Thai visa and work permit needs.